Christmas Peace To You

December 22, 2012 at 10:32 pm 19 comments

star_of_bethlehem
“For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given: and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful …” Isaiah 9:6


For The Children and Staff of  Sandy Hook:

121215024845-09-newtown-reax-1214-horizontal-gallery

“Mother’s Evening Prayer” Music by Peter Link, Poem by Mary Baker Eddy

For The Families:

121215024857-14-newtown-reax-1214-horizontal-gallery


“Even Now” from Affirmations CD; Music and Lyrics by Peter Link

For Those Who Mourn:

121216051422-05-newtown-reax-1216-horizontal-gallery

“In Silence” Music and Lyrics by Peter Link

For Our Children Everywhere:

121221070334-newtown-reaction-miami-horizontal-gallery

“What Peace Looks Like” from the Silk Road CD; Music by Peter Link; Lyrics by Julia Wade and Peter Link

For Each of You this Christmas Season:

sheperd_star_born_jesus

“Wonderful” Music by Peter Link; Text by Mary Baker Eddy and Adapted Text from the Book of John


From my heart to yours with Christmas prayers and hope for healing, peace, and love in the New Year,
Julia

 (All photos above came from CNN.com)

Entry filed under: Have I Got A Song For You!, Inspiration, Inspiration Infusion, Inspirational Music, Inspirational Poetry, Inspiratus, Inspiring Sites, Performance, Poetry, Spiritual Thinkers.

Silk Road – Part 7: It’s Here! A Gift of Music for The New Year

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. igudger  |  December 22, 2012 at 10:42 pm

    Wow. Julia, Thank you so much. What a beautiful, loving, compassionate gift. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. juliawade  |  December 22, 2012 at 10:54 pm

      You’re so welcome, Ian! We are all reflecting Love, each in our own way, as Love moves us. I deeply appreciate your reflections of Love! Happy Christmas!

      Reply
      • 3. igudger  |  December 22, 2012 at 11:19 pm

        You are so sweet. I deeply appreciate your reflection of Love as well. In all honesty, I generally like music that has a more “raw” feel to it (not a big fan of electronic sounding instruments), but this moved me greatly. I’m only telling you this because I wanted to let you know the love was so powerful it cut right through what would seem to be normal personal-choice roadblocks. I think it was the pure love in your voice. Thanks so much. Very touching

        Reply
        • 4. juliawade  |  December 30, 2012 at 9:51 pm

          Hi again Ian!

          Thanks for opening your heart and telling me of your own preferences. That makes your hearing and getting into this music that much more meaningful to me. As a creative type, I am by nature curious on all levels, so the exploration of music of all kinds, the different soundscapes and thought-journeys are all part of what I do on a regular basis. It’s therefore, such a joy to know when someone who comes from a “different” sensibility in music gets what I’m doing. I like to think of varying musical styles as distinct points on an infinite spectrum of expression. Thank you for landing on current area of the spectrum and sharing the space and thoughts for a little while!

          We (I include my principal composer/producer, Peter Link) create, produce and perform the music that speaks straight from our hearts — just as most musicians — and the array of instruments and instrumentalists available to us is pretty amazing. We work with a mixture of live musicians as well as sampled music technology. This means that we actuality have the opportunity to work with even more musicians whose playing has been “sampled” or recorded live, to be used as music yet again when in the hands of a deft composer such as Peter.

          All this to say that I truly appreciate your thoughts on what kind of music normally speaks to you, and how this music did break through to your sensibility. Maybe one of the reasons is that you are hearing both first-hand live musicians and sampled musicians together in most cases in my songs.

          I had to comment as you really got me thinking again about what different folks respond to in musical tastes. I love the idea that the Spirit can be felt through all points of the spectrum!

          Reply
          • 5. igudger  |  January 1, 2013 at 10:55 pm

            That makes perfect sense. I particularly like and understand what you said at the end, “Spirit can be felt through all points of the spectrum.” That’s probably why I don’t listen to one type of music either and search for music that seems to represent my impressions of the simplicity yet vastness of Spirit. I have so much to learn and enjoy learning from delightful musicians like yourself.

  • 6. Amy Duncan  |  December 23, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Beautiful as always, Julia (and Peter)!

    Reply
  • 8. Gayle Harmon  |  December 25, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    Hi Julia, your gift of healing inspiring BEAUTIFUL music has been a big part of my Christmas morning! Now Im off to my son’s home to share a ham and goodies with his family. l’m so grateful for the joy and love and energy you bring into my life through your music! I look forward to another year of great recordings from you. Maybe this year i can help our church use more of your music. I received verbal approval recentally..progress! hugs to you and your husband, Gayle

    Reply
    • 9. juliawade  |  December 30, 2012 at 10:03 pm

      Hi Gayle, a hearty Happy New Year to you and all of yours! Thanks for your expectation of the new year complete with new recordings. I am excited to fulfill that for you! I just released my newest CD, Silk Road, at the beginning of this month, so it feels a little like a New Year’s offering … a month early! I hope you will enjoy exploring it — there’s some familiar territory, as well as some brand new terrain.

      Here’s a link to my Reverbnation page where you can listen to 3 or 4 songs from the new CD: http://www.reverbnation.com/juliawade.

      Thanks again and sending you love and light!

      Reply
  • 10. katego  |  December 26, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    Simply Beautiful Julia and Peter. Thank you for the music- resonating with the heart and spirit of Christmas. Merry Christmas. love Kate Oswald

    Reply
    • 11. juliawade  |  December 30, 2012 at 10:06 pm

      Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, Kate! Great to hear from you! Well, you know we admire your beautiful, beautiful music — voice and harp. (Everyone please check out Kate, Gibson Oswald’s inspired CD HERE… http://www.watchfiremusic.com/artist.php?arid=103) Love to you and yours!

      Reply
  • 12. Sandi  |  December 26, 2012 at 6:07 pm

    Such a caring gift.

    Reply
    • 13. juliawade  |  December 30, 2012 at 10:07 pm

      Thank you Sandi. The gift for me is knowing that you stopped by to listen. Thanks so much. Happy 2013!

      Reply
  • 14. susan collins  |  December 26, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    Julia!
    I just listened to “O Gentle Presence.” Absolutely stunning Julia.
    So moving. The melody; the phrasing; the rhythm; it’s not only uplifting, – but so tender, yet commanding.
    Sincerest thanks, and much love,
    Susan

    Reply
    • 15. juliawade  |  December 30, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      Hi Susan, I am so grateful this particular setting moved you! I have loved performing this with my favorite guitarist, Bobby Stanton, when we have toured together. I also truly loved performing this with Bobby at The Mother Church, as well as with TMC organist Bryan Ashley on piano on another occasion at TMC. It’s a song for the ages, for me. Well, the poem is poetry for the ages — and that many of us already knew. Thanks so much for your thoughts on this piece. Much love.

      Reply
  • 16. Marianna  |  December 27, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    Julia,

    I LOVE this! This could be a classic! My kudos to Peter. You have never sounded better!!!

    Happy New Year!

    Much love,
    Marianna

    Reply
    • 17. juliawade  |  December 30, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Love right back atcha, Marianna! Thank you!

      Reply
  • 18. Marianna  |  December 27, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    I just realized I didn’t say what song…Wonderful!

    Reply
    • 19. juliawade  |  December 30, 2012 at 10:16 pm

      Hi Marianna! I have been describing this song as a modern extended Christmas carol! Your thoughts on it having the makings of a classic seem so fitting. I hope the song will reach that status. The lyrics came from some amazing classic spiritual writings — from the book of John with references to Isaiah, and from the spiritual writings of Mary Baker Eddy. Time will tell, but in the meantime, I am SO glad that the song is having play here and now. Happy 2013, Marianna!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

Inspiratus by Julia Wade

JW-blog-shot

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,517 other followers

Archives