Old Quarter, New Quarter, Next Quarter – Another “Bleet!”

February 28, 2012 at 5:21 am 4 comments

Hello Friends!

It’s 2012 and it’s been that way for 2 whole months!  Whew!  So Happy New Year, Happy Valentine’s Day, and Happy President’s Day are greetings already of the past.  AND… I know it’s been too long since I last blogged – October, in the final quarter of 2011, to be exact…

OK, so here’s a quick run down of last quarter 2011, along with this new quarter in 2012 and thoughts on the next quarter coming up.  Ah, yes, it’s another “Bleet” — that series of really short items (mini-blog posts), but longer than tweets — to catch you up!

I left off in October 2011 telling you all about a Kickstarter Campaign to raise funds for Peter Link’s brand new CD Goin’ Home…

November 2, 2011: Hooray!!!  Peter Link met his Kickstarter goal of raising $9500 (he raised even more!) to finish the recording, packaging and releasing of Goin’ Home.  The best way to check out exactly HOW he did that is to visit the Peter Link Goin’ Home Kickstarter Campaign.

A big wonderful community of folks rose up and gave and gave and gave.  The really neat thing about the Kickstarter fundraising platform is that it gives folks the opportunity to get in on the ground floor to help creative ideas come to completion.  And then they receive incentives for their giving.  The folks who contributed to making Peter’s new CD, Goin’ Home: On Heaven and Beyond received all kinds of CDs and digital downloads of Goin’ Home as well as updates, emails and news and inclusion on the CD liner notes.  It was such an exciting community-building experience… And you can be part of it too by checking out the new CD!  Here’s a pic of all the folks (some are pictured by avatars).

Goin' Home Family of Donors (some pictured with avatars)

November 24, 2011:  Goin’ Home had a wonderful release on Thanksgiving Day!:  I am proud to be one of the artists on the Goin’ Home CD along with Jenny Burton, Catherine Russell, Tom Tipton, and a fantastic choir with Angela Clemons, Margaret Dorn, Keith Fluitt, John James, Kevin Osborne Vaneese Thomas and Darryl Tookes.  It was MY JOY and honor to solo on Peter Link’s kickin’ new version of “When The Saints Go Marchin’ In” and to close the album with singer/songwriter Julie Gold’s soulful song, “Come To Me As A Bird.”

Chet and Julia take a bow after Christmas Presence

December 3rd and 10th, 2011 — “Christmas Presence” Musical Lecture Events:With Christian Science Lecturer Chet Manchester, I traveled to St. Louis and Phoenix in December where we gave our “Christmas Presence” lecture event to full and overflowing houses.  The musical lecture featured music from two of my CDs, Story For The Ages and Every Day as well as some brand new music too!  You can check out both a full audio version of this musical lecture at AND a 15 minute video with a portion of Chet’s talk followed by my performance of Psalm 23.  Enjoy!

December 18th took me back to Boston to sing at beloved TMC, — The Mother Church.  I sang a gorgeous medley of Christmas carols which really covered Christmas in a wonderful, traditional way so that on…

Christmas Day, December 24, 2011, I sang a brand-new Christmas song, “Wonderful” by Peter Link.  It told the story of the birth of Jesus through Biblical verses intertwined with prose from Mary Baker Eddy in a most inspiring way.  TMC organist Bryan Ashley accompanied on keyboard with joyful bells and lush Rhodes piano, and harpist Judith Kogan was the centerpiece of the music with her gorgeous playing.  With these two musicians, “Wonderful” was… wonderful.  If you missed it, you can still hear it and present it as a solo in your church!  Download or order the single CD recording  and the sheet music too!

New Year’s Eve, Dec 31st 2011:  With beloved family and friends, I brought in the New Year, at home for a change, in NYC.  Here is what it looked like from a window on 8th Avenue overlooking the crowds – just one street away from Times Square!  It was a sweet time had by all!  (click on the image to get a better view!)

2012!!!!  Wow!  I’m come full circle in this blog post:  We’ve been in this New Year for 2 whole months already, and I am pretty excited about it.

January 2012:  I kicked off the year by giving my website, juliawade.com a new look and organization.  Please check it out and enjoy browsing.

Also, the recording studio called, so I answered.  Since the beginning of January until now, I have recorded 4 new songs… But more on that later!

February 2012 — The news is officially out:  I have been in the planning stages with TMC for almost a year, and the news is finally, officially published:  I am completing my seven years of service as Soloist at The Mother Church in Boston at the end of April, 2012!!

I am very excited to have been Soloist for 7 years!  Wow!  I always thought it would be 3 to 5 years, and here I am coming in for the final lap at 7.  I am grateful beyond words for the time I have had working with fantastic folks at TMC… It is a privilege of a lifetime.  I will be writing about my experiences for a long time to come, I promise!  More on this in future posts!

Looking forward to April 2012:  Well, for now all I can say is that I am GRATEFUL, EXCITED, and JOYFUL about my “graduation” from TMC into some wonderful new projects already begun, future plans as well – and lots more wonderful music.  Stay tuned… there will be much more to talk about in the coming months.

For now, I am really happy to have caught you all up to the present.

This concludes my Bleet!

With love!
Julia

Entry filed under: 1, inspirational Music, inspirational Sheet Music, Inspiring Sites, Performance. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Goin’ Home — A New Music Project! An Interview by Alysia Stern for Spot On Long Island

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. andrewdbrewis  |  February 28, 2012 at 5:29 am

    Julia…Thanks for your update. I know that when I heard you sing at TMC…on my first visit to talk about and sing new hymns a few years back …I was simply bowled over with emotion! So thank you !!!

    Andrew D. Brewis

    Reply
    • 2. juliawade  |  February 28, 2012 at 10:59 am

      Hi Andrew!
      Thanks so much for your heartfelt comment! That means the world to me! Likewise, I will NEVER forget the wonderful, excited and heartfelt reception YOU received when you got up to play one of your new hymns — which is now in the Christian Science Hymnal Supplement — at the very first Hymn Workshop at TMC to introduce the new Supplement to the C.S. movement. Your music came as a breath of fresh air to so many of us!

      Reply
  • 3. Edythe Peterson  |  March 7, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    Thank you so much for your beautiful solos at the Mother Church. I listen to them every Sunday on my computer. I’m sorry to hear you will be leaving, but I wish you well in all you do.

    I go to sleep every night listening to your CD’s. They bring me much comfort. My wonderful husband of 54 years passed on a year ago, and shortly after he passed on I was sitting in my bedroom reading my C.S. Bible lesson, when a Gold Finch hopped up on my window sill outside, right by me and turned his head to look at me, and after awhile flew away. I truly felt it was him looking in on me, and it felt so good. Your song “Come To Me As A Bird” means a lot to me.

    Shortly after he passed on you sang “Reality” at the Mother Church. It meant so much to me. I hope some day you will include that song on a CD. I’ve tried to find the words to it online, but haven’t been able to. If you can tell me where I can find them, I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thank you so much for your all of your wonderful songs!

    Edy Peterson, Roseville MN

    Reply
    • 4. juliawade  |  March 7, 2012 at 7:24 pm

      Dear Edy,

      Thanks so much for your heartfelt comments! I have loved and will always love my days at The Mother Church. And I will keep the music coming, to be sure! I am SO glad that “Come To Me As A Bird” means so much to you. It’s a very special song, and I am so grateful to have been able to sing it to close Peter Link’s “Goin’ Home — On Heaven and Beyond” CD!

      Here are the lyrics to the solo “Reality” that you asked about. A number of other folks have asked for these as well, so I thank you for mentioning this song.

      Here you go, with much much love!
      Julia

      Reality

      Words and Music by
      Dorothy Chancellor Currey

      If God doesn’t know it,
      There’s nothing to know.
      If God didn’t sow it,
      There’s nothing to grow.
      Unless He fashion it, favor it, have pride in it,
      Can reality abide in it?

      If God doesn’t see it,
      There’s nothing to see.
      If God couldn’t Be it,
      There’s nothing to Be.
      But, if His tender love enfold it, embrace it,
      Nor time nor tide erase it.

      If God didn’t plan it,
      It isn’t a plan.
      If God couldn’t bless it,
      It isn’t for man!
      “God made the Heavens and the earth, and all that is therein.”
      “And for His glory was ev’ry man created!”

      If God doesn’t know it,
      There’s nothing to know.
      If God didn’t sow it,
      There’s nothing to grow.
      Unless He fashion it, favor it, have pride in it,
      Can reality abide in it?

      If God doesn’t hear it,
      It’s never been heard
      If God didn’t say it,
      It isn’t “the word.”
      But if He order it, honor it, rejoice in it,
      Then hear Truth’s voice in it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

Inspiratus by Julia Wade

JW-blog-shot

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,511 other followers

Archives