Music — A Healing Agent

May 1, 2010 at 4:08 pm Leave a comment

After being involved in the NYC Spiritual Activists Summit a couple of weeks ago, I got to thinking again about the huge potential and opportunity music holds to inspire, lift up and heal.

I wrote a short article that I posted to On The Summit — a great site dedicated to allowing Summit attendees and visitors to stay in touch with one another, and to continue exploring spirituality, friendship, etc.  (Check out the “Best of” Highlights of the weekend!)

Friday night music at the NYC Summit; photo by Nathaniel Wilder

I wanted to share my article with you on here on my blog. The Summit weekend reminded me of an experience I had when I was 16 and the healing that resulted. Music played an important role in helping me get to that point of healing.

So here goes!

Music – A Healing Agent

The NYC Spiritual Activists Summit was amazing! As a musician, I was so aware of how music was woven throughout the whole Summit weekend with group hymn singing, learning the In Sync chorus, the Friday night music and groups, the Saturday night concert, music in the church service and Sunday School, individual impromptu jam sessions – and even a Sunday night “leccert” (lecture/concert) for those still hanging around.

Wow! That was a lot of great music! And it made me think deeply once again about the spiritual role music can play in our lives and its huge healing potential.

As a spiritual thinker, I have discovered that music is a very natural communicator of ideas, inspiration, and healing. I have had many healings in my life as a result of my participation in music, and I’ll bet that many of you have too.

When I was 16, I experienced a physical healing that involved music. That summer, I worked at a camp as the babysitter for the camp directors’ kids. One evening on a night off, I was on my way to my cabin when I decided to take a quick jump on the camp trampoline. This was a not allowed if no one was around to spot you. But I decided to do it anyway.

The trampoline was at ground level and it was built over a pit. I hopped on and began jumping. It was so exhilarating and fun, that I kept jumping higher.

On one jump, I missed and landed on the ground, coming down hard on my ankle. The pain was fierce. No one was around to help me because all the campers and counselors were away at an evening activity. I couldn’t walk back to my cabin. I screamed in pain and fear.

Eventually, a couple of guys from the kitchen must have heard me, and they came out to see what was going on. They carried me up to the nursing quarters where a Christian Science nurse welcomed me in and began to help me. She prayed with me, calmed me and put my ankle and me to bed.

I spent a couple of days at the nurse’s quarters, in bed, staying off the badly sprained and swelled ankle. On the first morning, a Christian Science practitioner came in and talked to me and began praying for me.

I was praying to be more obedient, (not jump on forbidden trampolines, etc.) and to really understand that accidents were no part of God’s universe, and therefore not any part of my experience. I gradually gained peace and conviction about my true nature as a perfect child of God.

On the second morning, the nurse told me that I had to get up and walk. I was terrified because the pain had been so intense when I tried to stand and put pressure on the ankle at the time of the injury. But now, the swelling had gone down, and the only thing that seemed to be preventing me from getting up and walking was my fear of the pain.

The nurse told me that I needed to sing a hymn – any hymn – and when I felt ready, I was to get up, still singing, and walk. I loved to sing, so I readily agreed to at least do that. I chose “I walk with Love along the way” (Hymn #139) from the Christian Science Hymnal.

The nurse sang with me for a bit, and then she left the room. I kept singing, and pretty soon, I was feeling so good and happy, I knew that I could get up and take that first step.

I got out of bed and stood up while singing “I walk with Love along the way and oh, it is a holy day. No more I suffer cruel fear, I feel God’s presence with me
here…”

I took a first step, and the pain was almost completely gone. Encouraged and feeling less fearful, I kept singing and took another step, and another… and another.

I was up that day and able to walk with a limp. The complete healing took place in a matter of days. Soon I was back to running around all over and doing my normal duties. I was so grateful!

This was a graphic illustration in my life of how music – a hymn in this case– served as a messenger of healing. Ever since then, music has often been an agent to turn my thought around or away from a frightening sight, situation or physical problem.

By turning to a hymn, or any music that inspires me, my thought focuses on the ideas communicated in the words and music. The result is that I replace the negative thoughts with the joy, reverence, hope, etc. that the song communicates to me. So, humming or listening to a great piece of music can result in a new view or a fresh perspective. Sometimes it simply lifts us to pure joy — and that kind of change of thought results in healings of all kinds.

Music often inspires me in the same way as reading the Bible or the Christian Science textbook Science and Health with Key to The Scriptures. It can open my heart and my thinking in a way that makes me more receptive, more joyful, and places me in my best and highest mode of thinking.

Mary Baker Eddy writes,“Whatever inspires with wisdom, Truth, or Love–be it song, sermon, or Science–blesses the human family with crumbs of comfort from Christ’s table, feeding the hungry and giving living waters to the thirsty.” 1

Wow! “Whatever inspires with wisdom, Truth, or Love–be it song, sermon or Science…” — I love the freedom of expression and the infinite opportunity for healing in that phrase!

So the next time you are humming a melody, playing an instrument or listening to a concert, just think about the healing messages of wisdom, Truth and Love available and coming to you right where you are — on the wings of music!

1Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures by Mary Baker Eddy, p. 234:1

===============

Julia Wade is a Recording Artist
and Director of Digital Sheet Music
for watchfiremusic.com

Explore more Inspirational Music
and
Digital Sheet Music
at
WatchfireMusic.com
and
Visit our Digital Sheet Music Store

  • Browse Composers and Artists
  • Search Sheet Music Titles
  • View and Listen to Sheet Music Samples
Entry filed under: Inspiration, Inspirational Music, Inspirational Poetry, Inspiratus, Inspiring Sites, Spiritual Thinkers. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Two Events — One Weekend… THIS Weekend! How’s Your Garden of Songs?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

Inspiratus by Julia Wade

JW-blog-shot

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,517 other followers

Archives