The Kingdom Of God: A Follow Up

September 18, 2009 at 1:46 am Leave a comment

inspiratus_banner_2

Follow up
to
Inspiratus Interview
with Composer Greg Granoff

Read Part 1 of the Greg Granoff Interview
Read Part 2 of the Greg Granoff Interview

greg_granoffBy the time I posted the Inspiratus interview with composer Greg Granoff, I had already sung two of his songs at The Mother Church in Boston where I perform each week.  I felt I had a real sense of his music by then, and I had become a true fan!

In his interview, Greg mentioned that his favorite song was “The Kingdom Of God.”

Well, when I first heard this song about a year ago, I was very moved by the beauty of its unique melodic and harmonic structures.  Shifting keys from minor to major and a constant conversation between the voice and keyboard fully engaged me and drew from me an immediate emotional response.  I was excited to explore this piece further, but I had to wait until last Sunday, September 13th to sing the song in a service.

“The Kingdom Of God” is a dramatic song, and it tells a truly dramatic story.

The text, straight out of the Bible, is such an intense moment:  Jesus must answer to the Pharisees. (Oh, those dreaded Pharisees!)  They were trying to trick him into stumbling in his answer to their question, “When will the kingdom of God come?”  They wanted to prove Jesus an imposter.  They were sure that they would stump him on this one.

Greg Granoff’s treatment of this text — especially in the repetitiveness of Jesus’ answer to the Pharisees — gives the listener a chance to really think about Jesus’ reply and the nature of his reply.

Greg’s sensitive musical treatment and continual return to Jesus’ answer, “for behold, the kingdom of God is within you” gives the listener the opportunity to apply Jesus’ wisdom to his or her own life – right then and there in the song.  The song has an immediacy that is most powerful.

My colleague, organist Bryan Ashley, and I had a superb experience together in learning, exploring and reaching performance level with this song.  “The Kingdom Of God” was a journey of inspiration and realization for us, and I think too, for the congregation.

==============================

You can view, listen and purchase the sheet music for
Greg Granoff’s “The Kingdom Of Heaven”
at www.watchfiremusic.com.

Entry filed under: church music, Have I Got A Song For You!, inspirational Music, Inspiratus Interviews, Performance, Sheet Music. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

On Success: Thinking Out Of The Box Random Thoughts on the Artistic Process

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

Inspiratus by Julia Wade

JW-blog-shot

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,511 other followers

Archives