A Blog Is Born (well, its name is, anyway)

June 2, 2009 at 12:28 am 1 comment

Inspiratus_banner

Inspiratus:  It was always my plan to give this blog a name worthy of the things we are talking about here.  Or, more specifically, give it a name that would evoke the theme and tone of the blog.  In this case, the blog came first, its title followed.

After a lot of “name-storming” with the folks at Watchfire Music as well as with the Name-Meister himself (that would be Peter Link), a few moons later “Inspiratus” came to light.  For me, it best expresses the feeling and direction of this blog.

So, what is Inspiratus?  It is the Latin root word for Inspiration: “to blow or breathe into or upon, to inspire; an inspiring influence.”

I chose this name because I love to think of this influence or breath of Inspiration being present in our lives to draw upon at all times!  Inspiration, too, draws us in.  Maybe it’s all the same process, depending on how you look at it.

It’s the action and reaction, I think, of each one’s individual consciousness that brings us to this endless well of Inspiration.  The well never dries up.  Sometimes, though, it sure seems like our own thinking or action does — but never Inspiration.

We have to constantly re-align ourselves to it.  Maybe that is why there are so many systems dedicated to training us to practice receiving or tapping into Inspiration on a daily basis.

For me, the most fundamental process of tapping into it is prayer.  It involves a lot of quietness, listening, and openness.  Asking is involved, too, as well as affirming.  When the prayer’s not working, it’s always because I’m not working — I’m not doing my work.  The act of either being quiet or listening takes a lot of work!  It takes practice.  It’s a discipline.  (I keep learning the art of listening over and over again…  Just ask my husband!)

Now, I could go on and on, and I probably will with a lot of help from all of you.  That’s what this blog is for: so I can go on and on about Inspiration.  I come from the direct perspective of Inspirational music.  But then there’s also the “and beyond” part.  So much to explore, discover and share!

Entry filed under: Inspiration, Inspirational Music, Inspiratus, Spiritual Thinkers. Tags: , , , , , .

Lyrics and Church – Part 2 Singing Siyahamba with the World

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. kevin graunke  |  June 12, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    Just wanted to thank you for your glorious music at the TMC hymn sing, Julia. Was hard for me to sing along w/”We are walking” due to tears in the eyes & the lump in my throat.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

Inspiratus by Julia Wade

JW-blog-shot

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,517 other followers

Archives