The Master’s Voice

April 29, 2009 at 3:55 am 3 comments

Pike's Peak in Colorado - image by David Shankbone

There is a lady who spends her days in an incredible place on the planet. She lives at the foot of the Front Range in Colorado where she composes beautiful ballads, solo songs and choral pieces for her church and the world.

She writes lyrics that soar and offer expressions of gratitude, joy, devotion, inner reflection, comfort, worship and praise. Her music is inspired. Remarkably, this lady’s method of tithing to her church is to offer her music on the internet as free sheet music downloads. What a gift!

Sally Deford is a prolific composer of Christian Inspirational music that crosses over many religions. She is a member of the Mormon Church, yet much of her music lives and breathes in other church denominations as well.

I love her because as I have returned to her site dozens of times over the last few years, I feel that I have gotten to know Sally the Woman, as well as Sally the Inspirational Church Composer. Sally is completely herself as she talks to you on her website. She has a healthy wit and somewhat dry sense of humor, which I really enjoy. This underlines once again, the truth that humor is indeed one of God’s best attributes!

Sally Deford’s website, www.defordmusic.com, offers a full service of sheet music downloads, song lyrics, sound files and even full CD downloads right from her site — for free.

In 2007, I performed Sally’s beautiful song, “The Master’s Voice” for the Annual Meeting at The First Church of Christ, Scientist in Boston. Two superb musicians, guitarist Bobby Stanton and violist Don Krishnaswami accompanied me with a beautiful arrangement. It was a special moment.

I remember when I was trying to find the right song for the event, it wasn’t coming easily. The main idea that year was to consider Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount as the sufficient guide to daily spiritual growth. Wow. The Sermon on the Mount. How do you capture that in one sung moment?

Well, I put on my song-digging gloves and went searching for that perfect musical expression. Songs were coming up that were centered on small quotes from the Sermon, as well as larger portions of the Sermon, i.e., the Lord’s Prayer, The Beatitudes, etc. They all had some combination of merit, spirituality, musicality and/or beauty… but none seemed to underline or highlight the spiritual ground to be covered in that meeting.

It was many songs later that I found myself sitting at my desk, file drawers open, music strewn as if a tornado had hit our multi-tasking living room/office space, and I just stopped. I put my head down and my hands in my lap. I remember thinking, “What do you want the music to say, Father?” It was my pleading, resigned prayer of putting the weight of this decision back into God’s hands. I had nothing.

I closed my eyes for a few minutes during this bowed-head moment, and when I opened them, I became aware that I was staring straight down at my Solo Binder, which lay open in my lap. The Solo Binder is my week-to-week notebook that holds about a month’s worth of songs for upcoming services. It is my musical Bible – it contains the music, the corresponding Lesson Sermons for each week, lyric sheets for each song, notes, directions, — some of the essential tools I need to help deliver the songs each week.

The Solo Binder lay open at “The Master’s Voice” by Sally Deford — the solo programmed for that upcoming Sunday. And suddenly, I knew. I knew that I was staring straight down at The Song. The lyrics resonated so beautifully with the meeting’s theme without being literal. In other words, the song wrapped around the meeting and went straight to the heart of the message. This was not a selection of my doing. This was the answer to prayer. And not just my prayer – but the prayers of all the folks producing this meeting.

Many people have emailed, asking where to get this music. Well, all you have to do is visit Sally’s place — her website: http://www.defordmusic.com. There you will find “The Master’s Voice” in her alphabetical listing of song titles.

Bookmark Sally’s site. Visit it often. Browse and listen. She has a lot to offer for your church services.

Check out Bobby, Don and me as we perform “The Master’s Voice” at the 2007 Annual Meeting.

Entry filed under: Church Music, Have I Got A Song For You!, Inspirational Music, Inspirational Sheet Music, Inspiratus, Performance, Practice & Performance: Working It Out, Sheet Music. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

My Last Four Years KarmaTube and Gratefulness

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sue  |  May 21, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Wow! What a gift! From Sally and from you. Thank you thank you thank you.

    We’ve just auditioned a violinist to accompany some of our solos; already had a guitarist. (Before they ask?)

    Auditioning some pianists tonight and will give them The Master’s Voice to sight-read.

    Reply
    • 2. juliawade  |  May 22, 2009 at 1:53 pm

      Hi Sue,
      Thanks for your response! It’s so great to hear of all the beautiful music activity at your church! Nice that you already have a guitarist too. Having these new musicians along with your regular dedicated musicians can’t help but to continue to expand Soul-filled expression of divine messages in fresh ways!
      Best,
      Julia

      Reply
  • 3. Jeanne Sparks  |  May 30, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    HI, Julia,

    Thanks again for all the information you sent me earlier this year about the new hymnal supplement. I have just finished making a Disk for the Roland
    for Second Church, and in the process found many of them really turned me on. I recognized Desiree’s voice and then verified it on the CD.

    I just had time to look at your new blog and also to hear The Master’s Voice from a previous Annual Meeting. Consider yourself really hugged! You are
    absolutely beautiful and radiant and I’m thrilled with what all you are doing.
    Sure does bring back a lot of memories from our times together in Morgan Hill!

    Love, Jeanne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

Inspiratus by Julia Wade

JW-blog-shot

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,517 other followers

Archives