My Buddy

July 10, 2008 at 6:14 am 1 comment

FA_RH_LookingBackI have an amazing neighbor and friend, Richard-Charles Hoh. We’ve had a long-term “elevator friendship.” It’s the kind of friendship that naturally develops living in New York City, where we depend heavily on elevators to get us to and from home, get us to work, etc.

I shared elevator greetings with Richard for about 10 years with a deep sense of recognition and familiarity. Whenever we were on the same elevator, I always felt so happy to see him and do the usual exchange of hellos. I never knew his name, nor did he know mine, but we were great friends – elevator friends!

Two years ago, Richard came to our studio to record his most recent CD: “Looking Back With Love: My Life In Song.” My husband recognized Richard too and we were all officially introduced. Peter and Richard realized that they had been riding the same elevator together for about 25 years – again, never knowing each other’s name.

Well, Richard spent a number of months coming to the studio and recording. We all became friends in earnest – we learned one another’s name! Richard is a veteran Broadway actor and singer who has traveled the world entertaining in theatres, on cruise ships, and on TV.

I recently had the pleasure of performing in concert with Richard at a benefit. We sang two duets together. It was not only really fun to sing with this veteran performer, but it was also very special – and an honor!

Richard picked songs from his several solo CD recordings. We sang “Basin Street Blues,” complete with Richard’s own harmonies circling around me while I sang the melody, and then in close harmony together as we swept our way through to a grand finale.

We also performed “I Remember It Well” from Gigi. Do you remember it? It’s that sweet duet where Honore and Mamita remember when they first met. The elder Honore gets all the details wrong – doesn’t remember the actual facts. Mamita keeps gently correcting him.

Richard and I played it the exact opposite. We switched parts and I played the forgetful space chicken, always being corrected by the amused and clear-minded 83 year-old Mr Hoh. It was the most wonderful play on words and characters and was much appreciated by the audience.

Richard wrapped up his section of the concert with a gorgeous and heartfelt rendition of that famous old World War I song, “My Buddy.” You could hear a pin drop and there were quite a few moist eyes in the room. Listen to Richard sing “My Buddy”

Richard, as I mentioned before, has been on the stage for many years – almost 6 decades to be exact. He recorded his latest CD just two years ago. He sings like a bird. I can’t wait for his next CD – he’s got so much music in him!

You can check out Richard’s CD at WatchfireMusic.com

Cheers! Julia : )

Entry filed under: inspirational Music, Performance, Practice & Performance: Working It Out. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

A New Song In My Heart My Last Four Years

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

Inspiratus by Julia Wade

JW-blog-shot

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,508 other followers

Archives