A New Song In My Heart

July 10, 2008 at 6:10 am Leave a comment

The Mother Church, Boston

The Mother Church, Boston

I just got back from a huge weekend at The Mother Church (that’s the Christian Science world headquarters where I sing each week) and what an amazing time. People came from all over the world to participate in special services and activities.

I sang 4 services on Sunday and MC’ed a Hymn Sing that introduced brand new hymns soon to come out in a supplemental Hymnal. People were overjoyed to sing new music. Hey, they were clapping and dancing in the aisles!!

The weekend culminated in the 2008 Annual Meeting on Monday, June 2nd. It was a very inspiring, uplifting meeting. Many folks have been writing in and asking about the closing song — the benediction for the meeting that I was honored to sing. It is a new song by Peter Link called “Finding The Christ In Me.”

I want to share with you the inspiration that led me to this song. I was asked about 2 months ago to sing the closing benediction for this meeting, and once I knew what the theme of the meeting was — The simplicity that is in Christ — I set out on my search for the right piece of music. I call it the hunter/gatherer process. As an artist, I am not a songwriter, rather I interpret lyrics and music. I work from a combination of inspiration, prayer, meditation and research. For me, music programming is a habitual and ultimate treasure hunt – to find that perfect piece that so beautifully captures the spirit of the occasion, as well as resonates in my being.

As I searched for a song, I kept humming the melody of a simple hymn that Peter Link (my producer/husband) had recently written. The melody was the very essence of this message of the simplicity that is in Christ. I kept thinking, “the song has to be like this – it has to be as simple and deep as Peter’s song. And it can’t be complicated and fussy. It has to speak directly to the heart. It has to be… simply beautiful, profound and prayerful.”

Peter watched me go through a couple of weeks of searching. Some very interesting songs surfaced. Each option had one or two of the qualities mentioned above, but in each case, the overall message did not fully resonate.

I never said a word to Peter about the fact that I kept coming back to his hymn melody. I had basically dismissed it because the lyrics of the hymn were on a similar theme, but not the one I was working with.

One morning, Peter dropped some lyrics on my desk and said, “See what you think of these.” He had taken that very hymn that had been singing inside of me, and he had re-written ever so few words to bring this theme of the Christ’s simplicity into clear focus.

I literally started jumping up and down and yelling, “This is it! This is it! How did you know?! I have been thinking of this song all along!”

Peter smiled his quiet smile, raised his eyebrows in that knowing way, and we got to work on the solo arrangement with our amazing friend and colleague Margaret Dorn. She came over a few days later and we played and sang through the hymn to finalize our ideas for the arrangement.

I just love how this song sang its way into my consciousness and then into Peter’s. We never spoke about it to one another until he handed me the new lyrics.

For those of you who have been asking – you can get the sheet music now in two different keys by clicking on this link View and Download the sheet music and lyrics to “Finding The Christ In Me.”

Enjoy! Blessings and Light, Julia

Entry filed under: Have I Got A Song For You!, Inspirational Music, Inspirational Sheet Music, Inspiratus, Performance, Practice & Performance: Working It Out. Tags: , , , , , .

My Buddy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to my blog!

Inspiratus by Julia Wade

JW-blog-shot

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,517 other followers

Archives